AFT Local 1610
  • Collective Bargaining Update
    Updated On: May 08, 2018

    By John Erdmann

    I HAVE VERY GOOD NEWS TO REPORT.  On Friday, April 27th, the UPM Collective Bargaining Team reached conceptual agreement with the District on all remaining open articles of the contract. On the following Monday, I met with the District’s Chief Negotiator, going over hundreds of pages of proposals and distilling them into a final 103 page tentative agreement.  On May 4th, UPM signed the final agreement, putting a capstone on a long and demanding negotiation process that began in August of 2016 and which included twelve separate articles.  Please visit the UPM’s website, under the Contract menu: TA 2018, for digital copies of the signed agreements.

    UPM’s next step is to hold several informational meetings on the tentative agreements.  We have scheduled two meetings on the Kentfield campus and one at Indian Valley; the dates, times, and locations are as follows:

    • Tuesday, May 15, 2:30-4, IVC (Bldg. 27, Rm. 116)
    • Tuesday, May 15, 5-6:30, KTD (Deedy Lounge)
    • Thursday, May 17, 2:30-4, KTD (Deedy Lounge)

    After which, a ratification vote by the general membership is scheduled to take place on Monday, May 21, from 9:30 am to 6:00 pm at the UPM office in Kentfield (VS11B).  You may drop by any time during those hours to cast your vote. You must be a member of UPM in good standing (not just a “representation fee” payer) in order to vote.  The ratification vote monitors will have membership lists.

    The votes will be tallied in the UPM office on Tuesday, with the results published on Wednesday on the UPM website and via a member-wide email from UPM President, Laurie Ordin.  UPM members are invited to be present at the vote counting.

    I would like to give a shout out to those who helped support the bargaining process over the last two years. Our CB team members, all of whom spent countless hours and so many long weekends working together, include the following:

    Marco Gonzalez, Deborah Graham, Arthur Lutz, Laurie Ordin, Nadia Sanko, Scott Serafin, Derek Wilson, and Rebecca Beal as our latest note taker. 

    In addition to the team proper, many others contributed to the collaborative process.  I’m unable to list everyone by name, but my short list of kudos goes out to Barbara Bonander, Peggy Dodge, Kate Hayne, Jeannie Langinger, Magda Levin, Cheo Massion, Patricia Seery, Brent Zeller, and all the teachers in the Child Study Center.  Without the collective contributions of these exceptional colleagues, we certainly would not have been able to achieve so many of the goals this time around.

    Our CB team thanks you for the opportunity to represent the faculty’s interests.  It’s our hope the proposed contract meets with your approval.
  • Site Search
    Site Map
    RSS Feeds


    Download Past Issues

    << January 2019 >>
    S M T W T F S
    1 2 3 4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19
    20 21 22 23 24 25 26
    27 28 29 30 31
    Important Links
    Visit www.aft.org/aftplus/index.htm!
    Visit www.unionplus.org/!
    Visit www.calstrs.com!
    Visit www.cratrust.com!
  • UPM Local 1610

    Copyright © 2019.
    All Rights Reserved.

    Powered By UnionActive

  • Top of Page image